rejoice

It was 2001 and I was a week into a new job. I was in my new boss’s office and he had the TV on. The a plane had just flown into one of the World Trade towers in New York. We watched in horror as another plane flew into the second tower. The rest of the day was a blur of news and listening to the radio. I remember pulling my car off the side of the road and sitting there sobbing after hearing of the tower collapsing killing all those people – many including firefighters, police officers and people who were trying to help those who were trapped inside. A year later I remember standing at Ground Zero and being amazed at the huge gap in the buildings and hole in the ground where the towers used to be. I remembered being inside both of those buildings in the 80’s when I went there on a tour with my mother and best friend. Now they were gone. There was plastic on the surrounding buildings. I walked down by the water and there was a memorial tent with badges of all the police officers and firefighters who died trying to save all those people who inside. I wept again, bitter tears.

This morning as I was getting my coffee, I thumbed through my Facebook and saw some comments about Osama Bin Laden being dead. I picked up a paper and realized that he was gone. I again wept, only tears of joy this time. I never thought I’d wish another human being dead but I did. I don’t regret it – but rejoice.

Leave a Reply

