Just in time

I got up at 4 a.m. this morning-

-because I wanted to.

Yesterday, I pulled off a feat that still thinking back I am still surprised that I did it. It all started out innocently enough. I was sitting at my desk, sipping coffee and decided to see if there were any new motorcycle ads on cra*gsl*st. I had been perusing the ads quite a bit just dreaming of another bike and one that would allow me to carry a [Lee] passenger.

Normally, I do a specific search for a particular bike [which, is hard to find] but this time I just checked the “with images” box and let it rip. Four listings down was the bike I had been looking for and at a reasonable price. Even so I only had $150 in my account to last me until payday. I thought, ‘how can I get that bike?’ I looked at the Rolex on my wrist. I would sell it. I immediately put the watch on cra*gsl*st and for a price that people would bite at. I needed to turn this around fast because I knew that bike wouldn’t last for that price. Heck, they probably had people calling right at that moment. Twenty minutes later I had three emails about my watch. I emailed the owner of the bike. He emailed back with his number and I called him. I told him that I might have the cash in hand that night and if I did that I wanted to look at the bike. After getting pertinent details I hung up and started replying to all the emails inquiring about my watch. By 3:00 I had two people lined up to look/buy. I rode home and got out of my riding clothes and started digging for all the paperwork that came with the watch. By 4:00 I was in the car headed to Norcross to meet my first potential buyer. I called the bike guy “Jim”.

“Hey, Jim – can I come over and see the bike tonight and if so what time is good for you?”

“Oh, man. I have bad news –“

My heart sunk. I had really wanted that bike. I felt sick and almost turned the car around.

“-the guy I bought it off of said he’d run me over a check tonight for it.”

“I will have cash in hand.”He hesitated and I said, “I will even sweeten the deal.”

“No, that’s not necessary. Let me call the guy back – you called first on it and I’m going to tell him you’re really interested and to hold off.”

Within the hour I was heading back to my side of town with a wad of cash in my pocket. An hour after that I was riding this around town:

Lee came over later and I handed her a helmet, an air mesh motorcycle jacket and gloves. She gladly put it on and we took off on the bike. It was dark but we didn’t care. We rode a big loop around town before coming back to the house and parking. This morning I couldn’t sleep and got up to put the coffee on and go out and look at the bike. Lee caught me polishing it with a dishcloth in my boxers in the carport.

Today on my wrist is a Timex – and, I’m ok with that.

2 thoughts on “Just in time

  1. Congratulations. Nice bike. I love motor cycles, even wished I could have one sometimes.So glad you got what you were looking for. What does your other one look like? can you post a photo too? And timex takes a licking and keeps on ticking as they say. 🙂 have a great day. I have not been around blogland, but I have subscribed to your updates so i read in my email. 🙂 happy cycling.

    Like

Leave a Reply

