Questions post

I like to replace “Meme” with “Questions” because that’s invariably what it is, questions. I got these from Maria:

1. Using what’s in your fridge right now, what sort of meal would you be able to make for guests who are knocking on your door at this minute?

I fortunately have just been to the grocery store so I would make them a healthy meal of spinach salad, baked chicken and veggies. Now, if it were a party of 3 or more I would just tell them to go to McDonalds and shut the door.

 2. What’s something about yourself that you hope to change but probably never will?

That someday someone could live with me without a. them getting the f*ck on my nerves b. me having to constantly clean up after their @ss c. me having to cook for them and d. all of the above.

 3. What’s something about yourself that you hope will never change?

Per #2 that I always keep my independence. Growing up, my parents were very controlling. They always wanted to know what I was doing every minute of every day. I remember my independence coming only when I went away to band camp (no shit – one time at band camp…..) and then later college and then much later moving out-of-state. Because  they were controlling it has made me even more independent. I have a difficult time with relationships and the point of my partner, lover, girlfriend asking me questions such as “Where are you going?” or “What are you doing?” because it always triggers a reaction in me that wants to reply “None of your f-ing business.” To this day I never tell my family when I’m going on a trip (they have no idea I went to Key West) what I’m doing outside of talking about work (it’s a safe topic) or who I’m seeing (since they wouldn’t like her anyway.) My little facebook family are only those that are either close friends or distant college friends that live out-of-state. No one in my family is on there despite their constant friend requests.

4. Do you send serious or funny cards?

First of all, I loathe cards and sending cards. Granted I did get birthday cards that I have in a stack on my tv that I’m probably going to toss the next time I clean my office. I will read them – especially, the one from Lee declaring her love -and throw it in the trash. If I have to send a card it’s always a funny card. One that makes me and hopefully the recipient laugh.

5. Bird watching, shell gathering or star-gazing?

Shell gathering – any opportunity to be on a beach.

 6. Do you double-check or triple check things? If so, what?

I always check my wallet for my debit card, my work I.D. card [because I can’t do a thing at work without it] and my driver’s license. When I travel it gets even more hectic because I frequently check my boarding pass, drivers license, etc. several times even before I am through security and several times after.

 7. What’s your favorite place for people watching?

The airport. I always try to get there early and people watch. I always imagine where they are going and why. I end up making up stories as they pass by. 

 8. Insert your own random thought here:

This week has been especially long since getting back from Key West. I’ve really decided that I don’t want to be here. (as in Atlanta, I mean) I’ve thought about putting my house up for rent and trying to find a job in Key West. I honestly do not have anything holding me here except my job and my house. But, if I could find someone to rent my house and a [good] job there I would go – in a heartbeat. Perhaps this feeling will pass and maybe I’m just in a rut or something or post-vacation blues, I don’t know. Right now, this moment I would just like to be excited over something or someone. Period. I guess for now I will be excited over it being almost Friday.

 How about you? Want to play?

2 thoughts on “Questions post

Leave a Reply

