Goodbye Lee

“Come here. Let’s say goodbye properly.”
“No, I’m leaving, I’m done. Thanks for the ticket.”

That was how it ended.

After the comment about the tickets we said goodbye to Ellen, Sheila and Sadie. Once at my truck I asked if we could take her car as I was almost out of gas.

“If you drive.”

Why do I always have to F-ing drive? I thought. I knew it was because Lee didn’t know he way around but, hell, she’s lived here as long as I have. Learn it.

As I backed her monster car out of the parking space she said “Do you think we’re going to get back together?”

It didn’t take her long to cut to the chase. “No, but you do.”

“I thought we talked about getting back together.”
“Lee we never talked about that. We talked about being friends and dating other people.”
“Well, I don’t want to date other people. I mean, I’m not dating anyone right now are you?”
I wasn’t falling for that. It was none of her business and I was sick to death of the topic.
“Maybe you should because I don’t see us getting back together.”
“You are seeing someone, arn’t you?”
I wanted to say, what’s it to you?
“Can’t you be thankful we’re at least speaking? That we’ve had a good time the past couple of times we’ve done stuff together?”
“I just thought we were eventually going to get back together.”
“There was no promises of that and I don’t see that happening.”
Lee started crying. I was exasperated.
“Why are you crying?”
“Because I just wanted us to get back together so bad.” she wailed.

“She is so self involved” I thought. “F what Lanie wants always.” But, right then all I wanted to do was get to the show and have a beer. My phone vibrated. It was my work colleague calling me back. I picked up and ha a short conversation and hung up after promising to forward on my resume.

“What was that about?”
“That was Jeremy calling me back.”
“What does he want?
I almost said ‘None of your F-ing business’ but instead “He wants me to talk to a guy in Colorado about a job.”
“Colorado?! You didn’t tell me your were moving to Colorado. How are we going to vet back together if you move there?

The girl really had lost her mind.

“I’m just going to talk to the guy. Nothing’s definite.” I shouted.
“But- ”
I had parked the car and had had enough. I cut her off with “Come on. Let’s go. I’m done talking about this.” I got out of the car and darted walking towards the venue. Once inside I mad a beeline for the beer tent.
“What do you want?”
“A Blue Moon.”
I handed over cash and Lee a debit card. The man shook his head. “We don’t take plastic. There’s a bank machine over there.” He said pointing down the hill. I slapped some more cash on the table taking care of her beer too.
“I will pay you back”
“The proper response is ‘Thank you’ not you got the tickets.”
“I was just joking.”
“No one’s laughing here.”
I headed off through the crowd moving towards the stage. There were throngs of people and I was getting claustrophobic. It was hot outside and I hated being large crowds. More annoyingly Lee had put her hand on the back of my neck specifically on the hair pressing it onto my neck. I knew I should have put it into a ponytail for the night. I moved her hand away and said, “Could you not do that?”
“Why-”
“I’m sweating enough already.”
She reached over and touched me yet again. “You’re shirt is soaked.”
I wanted to scream “Stop F-ing touching me”
I stepped away from her and pulled my hair up off my neck.
“Well, you’re the one who wanted to grow her hair out.”
“Yeah, it’s my fault.” I said sarcastically. I wanted to leave. I took out my phone and texted Ellen that I may need a ride.
“I didn’t mean that.”
“You never do but you say those things anyway.”
Fortunately, at that moment the band came on. They were good but I’m not sure they were worth all the drama went through to get there.

After the show we walked back tothe car and Lee asked me again if I wanted to drive.
“Nope.”
We got in and pulled out of the spot getting in line to leave the venue. She started in again about getting back together, Colorado, etc.
“Lee, I’m done talking about this and if you continue then I swear I’m going to get out of this car and walk.”

She drove in silence crying. At that moment I hated her. She had ruined the entire night and probably even a friendship because I didn’t want to lay eyes on her for a very long time after this. Just then she reached over to touch my arm and I pushed her away and said, “Don’t touch me.”

I could not wait to get out of that car. A scene from Vanilla Sky ran through my head. I fully pictured her flooring the car and running us into a brick wall. “Slow down. This is a residential neighborhood.”

Lee started rapidly changing the channels on the radio. She flipped through each twice before leaving it on a really awful song that I can’t remember what is was now. I wish I did. I was starting to be afraid. We stopped at a light and I moved to the door thinking I would jump out and run away but just when I touched the handle the light turned green and Lee floored it.
“This is my fault.” she sobbed.
She really was going to kill us. My heart was pounding through my chest. Just then a police cruiser went by and she slowed down. We finally pulled up to my truck and I said “Yes, it is.”
“Come here.” she said holding out her arms.”Let’s say goodbye properly.”
I thought ‘Not on your life,crazy’

I quickly got out of the car and into my truck and locked the doors. I was safe. I dropped it into reverse and got out of there. Once home I locked the doors and turned my phone off after calling Ellen to tell her I made it home ok.

No more Lee.

I will end with a pic of Sadie. Have a great weekend!

20110923-024953.jpg

6 thoughts on “Goodbye Lee

  1. I’m sure the emails, texts and whatever other forms of communication she will try will be interesting now. You and Sadie are best off without her in any way, shape or form right now.

    Like

  2. Sounds like it was a very good idea for you to go your separate ways. I just can’t believe she kept asking about the two of you getting back together…..Did she really think if she kept begging and crying to get back together that you would suddenly change your mind. And what’s up with that driving???? If I were you, I would have called the police while she was driving like that. I imagine she would have slowed way down.

    Hope you have a good weekend and are able to do something just for you.

    Like

  3. ive been reading your blog all summer and sometimes i wonder if your a glutton for punishment…you know you two are done…why do you keep toying with her…be done this time…for real

    Like

  4. Thanks for the pic of Sadie! I just want to hug her. I won’t trash on Lee anymore. In a way, I feel very sorry for her. Issues there. Take care hon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

