Behind these hazel eyes

I just got off work today and was merging onto the highway as this song came on:

I turned up the radio and started singing along.

“Here I am, once again
I’m torn into pieces
Can’t deny it, can’t pretend
Just thought you were the one
Broken up, deep inside
But you won’t get to see the tears I cry
Behind these hazel eyes”

Teri came to mind and I laughed to myself thinking how stupid that was. I only knew the girl, like a week. It was never as serious as what Kelly Clarkson proclaimed in her song.  I’m not torn into pieces and my eyes arn’t hazel, either – they’re blue. Anyway, I kept singing along.

“I told you everything
Opened up and let you in
You made me feel alright
For once in my life
Now all that’s left of me
Is what I pretend to be
So together, but so broken up inside
‘Cause I can’t breathe
No, I can’t sleep
I’m barely hangin’ on”

Shaking my head. I didn’t tell her everything. It wasn’t Teri that I missed it was what she represented. Singing.

“Swallow me then spit me out
For hating you, I blame myself
Seeing you it kills me now
No, I don’t cry on the outside
Anymore…
Anymore…”

“Here I am, once again
I’m torn into pieces
Can’t deny it, can’t pretend
Just thought you were the one
Broken up, deep inside
But you won’t get to see the tears I cry
Behind these hazel eyes”

The song ended as I merged on to I-20. My heart was pounding hard and I felt good – until I looked over at the car beside me. It was Teri. On the highway. Right beside me. She had on the glasses that I knew she wore for nearsightedness. Don’t ask me how I knew that. Goddam you, Teri. She had no idea I was beside her on the freeway. I moved over to the passing lane and floored it.

Obviously, I need to stop thinking about her if I’m going to accidentally summon her with my thoughts. This shit only happens to me.

Btw – did you see how HAWT Kelly is in that video?

2 thoughts on “Behind these hazel eyes

  1. Thankfully, you don’t seem to be superstitous like I am…otherwise you’d totally be overthinking the fact that out of all the people in the world to be next to you in traffic it was her. It’s when the universe throws something like that at you that messes with your head or heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

