flying solo

Yesterday, I was determined to go out and do something that night and get out of the house. I had felt cooped up since getting back from the mountains with my sister.

We had all thought that we were supposed to play our tie breaker match in pool that night but had gotten a last minute FB message from the coach saying she F-ed up and that it was next week but could we come out and practice anyway. I knew that if I didn’t go that I’d be in the doghouse. After walking Sadie I decided to go grab something to eat before practice. On the way I got a text from Hannah. I hadn’t been responding to her lately because it seemed like all she wanted to do was  run off somewhere and look at a motorcycles but since she now has one maybe I was off the hook.

“Hey, going to [bar in neighborhood] to play pool. Want to come?”

I picked up the phone and called her. We agreed to meet for a quick drink and a few games before I had to go practice with my team. Maybe I had been a bit harsh with her. She seems like a cool chick to hang out with even though I cannot see us ever dating. She’s a little too hippy-dippy for me (although, nothing against hippy-dippiness). We talked about her new bike, of course, and she wanted to know if I had any motorcycle gear hand-me-downs and I told her I would barter gear for artwork. I had a couple of pieces of hers in mind that I want. Her friends Ginny and Jennifer showed up and we all played a couple of games of pool before I had to head out. It was fun and I’m glad I met her out. I also got Ginny’s phone number because we keep running in to each other at parties and they live right up the street from me and we said we’d get together soon and walk the dogs. So, I added more friends in my cache to do things with.

Next, was pool practice. Everyone was there except for Amanda and Kendra. I played Naomi several times. Her and Mick just got engaged over the holiday. Although, I am happy for them – especially, since I’m the one who set them up but, it’s just another set of couple friends. It seems like all around me there are couples – a sea of couples and no.single.people.to.date. or that I even remotely want to date. Ok, I’m done with my pity party.

On to the new country bar.  I had heard that the local male leather bar was holding country nights on Thursdays and Saturdays. Thursdays at the old country bar was women’s night. I drove by half way expecting there to be four cars in the parking lot and was amazed that it was packed. In fact, I had to drive around looking for a spot to park. I went in and right up to the bar and there was my favorite bartender from the old bar. Without missing a beat he said, “Your usual?” I mean, it’s been almost a year since I last saw him. I said, “Yep.” He put a cold Corona Light with a lime in front of me and I turned and got my lean on.

I’m back.

4 thoughts on “flying solo

Leave a Reply

