Redeeming sickness

Well, Lee redeemed herself a little.

Yesterday, after all that I put on my running clothes and went for a run on base. I get an hour of “PT” time in my regular day so I take advantage of it. There are blacktopped trails that run through the meadow below the runway so often there are planes either taking off or landing. I like this. I like planes in general. Not to fly – never a desire – but just to be in or see them.

I had decided that I was going to do the 4-mile loop. I finished the run with a sprint to my office and then walked around for a bit. I felt a bit sick. Maybe I needed to cool off. My stomach was starting to give me fits. I went inside and sat at my desk. I think what it was is that one of the water bottles that goes on my running belt had mold in it. That’s the only thing I can think of it was because I hadn’t eaten since 10 that morning. (come to think of it – yeah, I haven’t eaten anything since then and it’s almost 10 the next day) and I cringe thinking those things had been riding under the seat of my truck. I can’t remember the last time they were washed, either. Serves me right.

My stomach was getting worse and my boss poked his head in and asked if I was ok. I told him my stomach was feeling weird and he told me to go home. Which, I did. I barely made it home before things got bad – symptoms of food poisoning if you know what I mean. I couldn’t keep anything down and my stomach kept cramping. I had no Gatorade or Ginger Ale in the house, either. I tried to drink a Coke 0 since it was fizzy but it came right back up.

I laid down on the bed with Sadie curled up on my legs and checked my email. Lee had sent me an email response. It was very sweet – I didn’t know she could write like that. Had she been taking some writing classes that I didn’t know about? I texted her “Sick”.

“What’s wrong?”

“My stomach. Food poisoning.”

“I’m coming right over.”

She brought me Ginger Ale and Gatorade and pepto in the pill form because the taste alone makes me throw up. She sat on the bed and put her cool hand on my feverish forehead. She said she was sorry about earlier and that she will do better in making plans with me and take my feelings and work schedule into consideration.

We talked for a bit more and then she left. So, yes, she’s redeemed herself somewhat. We’ll see what happens.

2 thoughts on “Redeeming sickness

  1. You are a smart girl, Lanie. I didn’t mean to imply in my comment on the last post that you aren’t entitled and justified in your feelings. I’m hooked on whatever happens next.

    Like

Leave a Reply

