in a hole and going off women

It’s just not meant to be.

Yesterday, as I was pulling out of the Starbucks I heard a crash and felt my truck drop. It felt like one of my wheels had fallen off the axle. I got out and saw that my left tire was lodged in a grate inlet that the grate had broken off of. I was basically stuck in a hole. I didn’t know what to do but call nine-one-one and tell them to send a cop and a tow truck.

As I was waiting a huge four wheel drive pickup pulled up behind me and a man wearing an Alabama hat (Roll Tide!) got out.

“Ma-am, I can pull you out of there and save you the tow fee.”

Putting on my best damsel in distress, which, wasn’t hard, “Really? Thanks so much.”

After pulling my truck out of the hole and unhooking the chain, he handed me his card.

“Anytime you want to get together give me a call.”

“Er, ok. Hey, thanks so much.”

I was dumbfounded. Even cutting my hair hadn’t seem to squelch being noticed by men. In fact, I get noticed more than ever now.

-Sigh –

Why can’t it be that way with women? I know how that guy feels. He’s so desperate for a date that he took time out of his busy day to pull a woman out of a hole. (Probably, something I’d do, too, come to think of it.)

I won my pool match last night and tore out of there heading for the country bar. Connie was there again and I asked her to dance. I had wondered why she hadn’t called me. I asked her if she still had my card.

“Yes, I think so.”

“Well, call me and we’ll go grab a cup of coffee sometime.”

Then, she totally flaked on me. When I tried to talk to her later she interrupted me and said she had to go talk to her gay guy friends and she wouldn’t dance with me again after that.

I have never understood why women go out to a gay bar and only talk to gay men – unless, they want to be with them. Or unless they’re giving you the brush off like Connie was doing to me. I sighed and ordered another beer and then left only finishing half. Just as well I don’t meet a rude woman in a bar that hangs on gay men. Even if she did call I doubt I would answer now.

I feel like I’m still stuck in that hole. I think I’m going off women for 46 days, too.

Leave a Reply

