taco night

It’s was a weird night – mostly good but weird all the same.

I had a great day starting off with sleeping in late because I had a meeting downtown. I rolled through the old neighborhood and stopped for a latte’ and a chocolate croissant.

After work I walked Sadie, met Alana out for dinner and then went on to theology study. That’s where it got weird. First of all, Kaitlyn came in late and sat at another table. In fact, I didn’t even know she was there until I looked over. She had emailed me about some events at the church and setting up a time for coffee and I had emailed her back with some days I could do coffee. I had also attached a link to Emily’s site so she could listen to one of her songs. I had asked if she were in to music perhaps check her out. (Only because one of Emily’s songs is very spiritual and I wanted her to hear it) I hadn’t heard back but assumed she thought she was going to see me tonight and we would talk then.

So afterwards, I went over to her and she was deep in a conversation with some guy who I’ve seen in class and church. He was the one crunching on pretzels and ice all through the lecture and was getting the F on my nerves. Finally, after he left she apologized saying she got my email and hadn’t replied. I said no problem and asked her if she listened to the link. She said she hadn’t and followed with something that she was going through email and was going to come back to it. She wanted to know what kind of music it was and I told her the name of the group, about the woman who was the headliner and that their music was a bit Appalachian and I wanted her particularly to hear the first song – that I found it very spiritual. I thought she might dig it.

Just then the theology professor came up and shook my hand and thanked me for my attendance. He’s done this every time I’ve been there and I’ve appreciated it despite sometimes not having any idea what the F they were talking about. He referenced Wesley and I finally asked who Wesley was and he went into an explanation on him (who founded the Methodist church which, I felt like a total dumb @ss after that). The whole time I was wondering if I was going to be able to talk to Kaitlyn again about coffee.

Finally, conversation finished she turned to me again and said, “So, yes, I will email you about coffee. I’m still not sure about the schedule and Heather’s schedule  – I mean, she works late most nights (another lawyer) so I dunno.” 

“That’s fine. Just let me know. See you at taco night next week?”

“Yeah, see you then.”

And, we left. She was different tonight. The past two times I’ve seen her she’s lit up and we’ve chatted and laughed and it went so fast. Tonight, she sat at another table, she was reserved, I had to go to her, she was unsure about the plans. I admit I got a weird vibe. Maybe things were going on at home. Maybe she’d had a bad day and just didn’t feel up to being the outgoing, caring minister. I get that. But, I’m at the place where I want to be friends so tell me what’s wrong, preach. I mean, have you ever met someone you thought could be your best friend? And, you wanted it to just start?

I drove home wondering that now that theology study is over with and I’m unavailable most weekends for church if I’d ever see Kaitlyn again if we never secured a coffee date. Or, I should say – became friends outside the church. Maybe it’s time to let it go.

Taco night might be the last night I see her.

And – I think I’m going to have to break up with hot chiropractor. To be continued…….

One thought on “taco night

  1. Hey 🙂 is it possible that she has noticed your interest in her and is unsure how to approach it? I mean, I’m a little confused as to what your interest in her is based on, so she may be.

    Also, you may be right, perhaps she’d just had a rubbishy day.

    Still, like you say, ball is well and truly in her court, leave it with her for a while, don’t jump about over the other side trying to get her to pass it back to you 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

