weddings everywhere

The other day when I was walking Sadie down by the lake I saw there was a commitment ceremony going on – between two women, even. I thought it was great that my little neighborhood hosted a same sex marriage. Just then my phone rang and it was Ronnie calling. She told me that her and her girl were getting married in New York. I could hear the excitement in her voice as she told me about it.

Yesterday, as I was walking Sadie down by the lake again, I was listening to this song.

 

I thought about it possibly being a song played at the beginning of the ceremony as people sat there waiting for both the brides to arrive. I imagined myself walking the trail on one side of the lake and seeing my bride across the lake walking on the opposite side. We would meet in the middle where the ceremony began.

As we walked in on opposite sides towards each other we’re mouthing the words of the last course to each other.

“So take care what you ask of me, ‘cause I can’t say no.”

Today, I got a frantic text from Bird saying she’s calling an emergency meeting at Taco Mac that very minute and to come on. I texted back – “can’t still at work.”

“Come straight here after.”

“Have to let the dog out.”

“Then let her out and common.”

“I have pool and I’m broke.”

“I’m buying. I have an announcement to make.”

“Is everything ok with Janice?”

“Things are great – we’re getting married.”

“I’ll be there.”

Weddings, weddings, weddings -happening and on the brain lately. Guess I’ll play that song again. It’s ok to dream even though it eludes me.

One thought on “weddings everywhere

Leave a Reply

