monday off

Yesterday morning after hitting the snooze 5 times and still not being able to move the decision was made – I was taking the day off. Charlie let me sleep until 8 before bringing in a cup of coffee. I knew the dogs were probably chomping at the bit to go for a walk so I got up to go with them. Just as we were getting ready to head out it started pouring rain – another reason why I didn’t want to go to work. It was raining in large proportions yesterday – I even got a message on my phone from Swackett that there was a flood warning for the neighborhood we lived. I wasn’t surprised.

Walk finally done we went out and grabbed breakfast at one of my favorite diners. I only eat there on the occasion that I am off during the week because on the weekends the line goes out the door and down the sidewalk and I refuse to wait to be seated. Charlie and I slid into the booth beside each other and I put my arm around her. We ate and talked and savored the smoked chicken in the skillet I ordered. After that, we hit a few thrift stores, then a fabulous liquor store (needed to stock up on whiskey) and finally the grocery.

That afternoon Charlie and I spent catching up and I must say that it was a luxury having the whole afternoon to do that. Later, we went and had pizza and wings at one of my favorite little joints down in 4th ward. The whole day was amazing and this morning when I hit the snooze I couldn’t wait until next Monday when I can have another day like that with her again.  

One thought on “monday off

Leave a Reply

