big planz

My hopes for the New Year are growing and I’ve been thinking a lot about things I want to happen. I hope that by putting things in my mind that they will be summoned. Which, in hindsight – I had Charlie in my mind about this time last year and look what happened?!

We both have huge plans for the year. First, we’re going to save for a camper. We have hopes of affording a used one by May so we can take it to the coast of Georgia and go camping with the dogs. Second, she’s starting school soon so by the end of the year she will have her certificate and hopefully find a more stable [income] job. Speaking of jobs – third it would be great if I could find a better job.

I’m starting out the year by going to an interview on Tuesday. (and, no I don’t think I’m jinxing it by talking about it – either it will be meant to be or not) This company I applied to back in October contacting me for an interview. I said, “Sure what time?”

I dusted off my career coaching notebook and went over several interview questions that could be asked. I have a feeling it’s going to be a panel interview (which, I hate) and I literally bombed my last one (not that I was unhappy about that because I could already tell showing up at the interview that the people and office would not work for me) so I’m going to study and prepare for it this weekend. Just like relationships, it’s either meant to be or not but at least if not then I am getting back into the practice of interviewing.

I would like to work closer to the house and make more money. I originally came into my current job from unemployment so I’m at the poverty level very low end of the pay structure for what I do. Plus, I’m so tired of having a 45 minute commute one way. I spend almost $80 in gas per week just to get to and from work. I haven’t had a raise since I started here and no bonuses. I work for the government where raises and bonuses are non-existent. There are some pro’s to the job but I don’t feel like talking about the pros right now – I want to think about moving on from where I am. I fantasize about something closer, that paid close to what I made previously in the private sector – maybe even enough to quit teaching every month. Maybe even retire from teaching. I don’t know – that’s a lot to think about.

Charlie and I are going to go through things to sell on Ebay and Craigslist tonight. I think we could easily sell enough sh*t stuff to get at least half way there. We’re going to cook at home and not go out to eat. (We agreed that we’re still going to enjoy the occasional beer at our favorite joint once in awhile) I already take my lunch to work every day so I save $$ there. But, I want to think of other ways to save $$ and make $$.

What are your new year goals or do you have any tips?

 

 

4 thoughts on “big planz

  1. We have always lived on a shoe string budget. (the thinnest laces you can buy really). We have sold many items on our local kijiji listing page. (like craiglist) bestus works from home, and i am on a call in basis. I can’t remember the last time we went to a restaurant for a meal. We enjoy staying home. It is our safe haven, I guess. That, and we are too broke to go anywhere. Everything costs too darned much. Gas is very expensive here right now as well, ($1.25/litre) so driving around for fun isn’t an option. My goal is to get on with my job as a permanent employee, but the only way that will happen is if someone retires or quits. So, I accept all phone calls to go in, even for a few hours. 🙂 I wish you both well, camping is a lot of fun, and it will be great for the dogs, too. Happy New Year to you ~ poet,

    Like

  2. You have a tough new years goal Lanie! 😛 I’m just going to lose weight and make the grade to hopefully get a full ride for law school.

    More money saving tips: don’t over indulge yourself. If your going out with friends to eat- ask if they want to split something big and pay for half (instead of ordering your own food and bringing it home and forgetting to eat it). Dont drive like crazy to build up gas mileage and spend less on gas. Be frugal when your in stores. Hope it works out for ya, and Happy New Year!

    ~C

    Like

Leave a Reply

