day off chex mix

I had a fabulous time being off yesterday. It was the first day I’ve had off since February 2nd.  I got to sleep in and have breakfast and walk the dogs with Charlie before she left for work. Then, I went over to the thrift store and got 4 Banana Republic and 1 Perry Ellis pairs of jeans for $6.99 each. I must make a note to shop for jeans on Mondays because people clean out their closets over the weekends.

I went over to the neighborhood café and ordered a latte’ while I downloaded a new episode of The Walking Dead onto the Kindle for Charlie and I to watch that night. Next, I went to the Farmer’s Market and picked up fresh veggies and shrimp to make stir fry.

Once home, I put the groceries away and took the dogs to the park. We got there and a chocolate lab immediately started playing with Sadie. His name was Clancy. I didn’t like that name because that was the name of the fast food restaurant I got locked in the bathroom when I was a kid – very traumatic. Anyway, Sadie was playing with him and he went over to try to play with Bailey and I heard three teeth clicks from her snapping at him. She didn’t actually get him – I think the growling and teeth clicking was a warning.

“Bailey, stop.” And she came running over. She’s really only a Sadie and people person. I think other dogs get on her nerves.

We walked through the woods and around and another dog came running up. Sadie tried to play with him and he turned around and growled and snapped at her.

“Ok, no one’s in a good mood today so let’s leave.”

So, it was kind of a bust that day. It’s not always like that – in fact, that was rare. We went down the street to our favorite joint and sat out on the patio and had a beer. It was so sunny and nice outside. Then, once Charlie got home – late because she had to go shut up the chickens (another story) we made dinner, watched The Walking Dead (which, I’m glad it picked up this week and Daryl’s back – also found out a little tidbit about him -a guy I taught class with this weekend saw his bike sitting in a shop near his house. He asked why it was there and the guy at the shop said he was making a replica of it with an electric starter. My friend asked why and was told “Because Daryl can’t seem to get it started by kicking it.” I find this hilarious – big, butch Daryl with the bow and arrow can’t kick start a bike.)

daryl

After that we watched The Following -and I have to say I’m ready for those characters that kidnapped the kid to be killed off. Seriously, they’re so annoying. The show has suspense but I wonder if there’s ever a conclusion. I guess kind of like TWD.

So, all in all a perfect day yesterday. Charlie is taking a test right now so wish her luck and keep your fingers crossed. This is week two for her and she seems to love it!

If you’re in rainy Georgia stay dry and everyone have a great week! I’m ready for the weekend already! I will leave you with a pic of the dogs taken at the soccer field near our house.

dogsfield

Leave a Reply

