Friday Deflation

So much has happened since stupid b*tch left. Two other people are getting let go at the end of the month because of the sequestration – they were contract employees. While they only had cup cakes for b*tch we’re throwing a party with sandwiches and “sides” for them. I will give a donation and go eat sandwiches because I like these guys and feel bad that they’re getting let go.

Another guy in contracting found a better job. I’m very happy for him because, like me, he struggles to get by and works a second job. This job is so much better for him and he’ll make more money. I’m happy but also feel………….deflated. Is this it? Is this the best I’ll get in a job? While it’s not bad most of the time – yesterday, I left early on a nice day. I’m also taking off on Monday for a mental health day – I have tons of personal, annual and sick leave. I wouldn’t have that in the private sector. Then, yesterday I got a call from a recruiter about something I applied for. I called her back but before she could ask me a bunch of questions I turned it around on her. Since she was a recruiter I knew she would be more apt to tell me about the job than a direct hire. This job was for a contract to perm with a power company. Being someone who had been laid off in the past and currently has a somewhat stable job the terms “contract to perm” make me a little uncomfortable. I asked her about it and she said that the job eventually gets hired on with the power company as an employee. I asked how long this could take and she said anywhere from 90 days to a year. I still wasn’t convinced. I know people who have worked as a contractor for the CDC for years and never got hired on perm. Next, I asked the salary and was told the cap was only 5k higher than what I currently made. First, they would never hire me on at the full cap – especially a contract to perm position and there was no way I was making a lateral. So, I thanked her for her time and said I was no longer interested in the job. There was no way I was going to waste my time on an interview.

It still made me feel deflated. I asked my immediate boss yesterday after this meeting we had downtown if work would pay for me to sit for the real estate class and she was going to look in to it. I know BAB is not going to go for it. He’s taken away so many things from me recently since he’s been here – my workout time, going on biz trips, etc. If he balks on this he’s really going to be on my sh*t list  it’s really going to make him look bad in the department.

So, anyway – I’m a bit deflated on this Friday afternoon. I have to head on over to Harley soon and teach a class tonight and this weekend. Maybe the great weather, motorcycles and air will do me good. Have a great weekend everyone and don’t forget to set back your clock!

3 thoughts on “Friday Deflation

  1. Well, if you’ve read my lastest post, then you know I’m right there with you. I’m basically just going to try to make the best out of a shit situation. What else can you do when no one is really hiring? At least not good jobs. I figure I make too much and do too little to quit. It would not be a smart decision for me to make.

    I think a long weekend will help you out. Those generally do the trick for me.

    Like

  2. Hopefully the US economy turns around soon and then your work situation will improve. At least you can be thankful that your personal life is going great. Good thing I hadn’t read your post earlier about turning back the clock, as here in Canada we turned ours ahead by one hour. I wld have missed my hockey game as we were up at the unheard of hour of 5:30 am for our second day of tournament play.

    Like

Leave a Reply

