meeting & meme

I got to sleep in this morning although the dogs pushed the door open with their noses and bounded in to wake me up but before they could leap onto the bed they realized that I was in the bathroom and went running in there instead. They always act like I’ve been away for years when they come in to get me up (the rare days that I am the last to leave the bed).

I padded into the kitchen to pour coffee, dogs leading the way. I wasn’t going in until after my “meeting”. Charlie was on the phone with her friend, B, from Florida. I find it amusing now that since we’ve gotten internet in the house that she has her office and I have mine. I went back to mine and sat down at the computer only to find a FB message from Charlie in the other room.

She was off the phone and wandered in while I was studying (for the meeting) when just as we decided to take the dogs for a walk it started pouring down rain. I don’t know why is it that every time I have to put on a suit it has to rain.

Flash forward to a bracing shower, Charlie doing my hair (she loves to blow dry it and make it all feminine looking) and almost falling and killing myself in the carport. Finally, I was ready to drive downtown.

I knew where I was going as I’d been there [several times previously] for meetings. I drove down and parked in the Underground parking deck – all the way up on the roof. I got out and looked out over downtown Atlanta. I was just above The Underground. I took pictures and texted Charlie. The rain had let up and it was sunny already. I had time to kill before the meeting. I decided to go down and walk around a bit. I walked up the street away from the building I was supposed to be in an hour. I did go down into The Underground. It had been years since I’d been there. Much had changed. I doubted if I would go there again even when the stores and kiosks were open.

I finally went into the building, going through the metal detector putting my briefcase on the belt. I walked through no problem and went up on the second floor that overlooked the tropical atrium below. I texted Charlie. The DOMA decision had been thrown out. I felt it was ironic given all this change in history on the day of my meeting. Perhaps other things would change after this day, too. It was time, I took the elevator to the sixth floor arriving 15 minutes early and sitting in the waiting room.

Finally, a woman came out and took me into a room with three other people. I sighed inwardly – only four people on the panel. I can handle that. They had a series of nine questions. At least it isn’t ten, I thought.

Time stood still and I found myself counting down the questions. Only eight left, only 3, two more. Then, my questions – already prepared. This was the time to form connections with the team. Then, it was over. I walked out into the lobby and waited for the elevator to take me down. I glanced fleetingly at the view of the buildings downtown from the lobby before stepping on the elevator. I texted Charlie, I’m out.

So, I think it went well. Cindy tells me that my job now is to think about if I would want it if they offered. I already know the answer to that. So, in the meantime to take my mind off of this I am going to do a Meme that I stole from Maria. (I know – I promised I’d never do these but it’s a special circumstance right now)

1. What is your favorite Dr. Seuss book.

That’s an easy one – GO Dog GO! I loved that book. I even have a miniature version of it on my bookshelf at home.

2. If you could live in any home on a television series, what would it be?

It would have to be the mansion that Vince, Turtle and E lived in on Entourage. This would be the place they lived before they accidentally burned it down because Turtle threw a joint off the roof and it caught on fire.

3. What’s the longest you’ve gone without sleep?

I think it was something like 64 hours. My roommate in college and I had been up pulling an all-niter to get a project done. My girlfriend at the time had just gotten tickets to see The Cure in Chicago and insisted we all go as soon as we turned in our projects. So, we did. What a weird weekend that was. Being sleep deprived is much like being on drugs. It’s amazing that we made it back alive.

4. What is your favorite Barry Manilow song.

Seriously? I don’t think the words favorite and Barry Manilow even go together.

5. Who is your favorite muppet?

This is a bit like the Barry Manilow question. I would say none of them as I wasn’t a fan of the muppets.

6. What is your favorite website?

This is a hard one. I mean, probably the one I spend the most time on is FaceBook. This morning waiting for the SCOTUS decision I kept checking FaceBook because it’s really my news source. Plus, there’s Candy Crush that I vowed never to get addicted to but I have which leads me to –

7. What habit are you proudest of breaking?

That would be smoking. I battled it for years. I can safely say now that I have no cravings for smoking of any kind anymore.

8. What is your favorite school supply?

Any kind of pens – I am a pen whore.

9. Who is your favorite television attorney?

Such an easy question – Patricia Hewes played by Glenn Close in Damages. If you haven’t watched this series I highly recommend it.

10. What was your best bargain at a garage sale?

I’m at a loss on this one because I rarely go to garage sales. I do go to thrift stores and recently I purchased three pairs of Banana Republic jeans for $3.99 each.

11. What was your most recent trip of more than 50 miles?

This would have to be when Charlie and I drove up to Indiana with the dogs to visit my family around Thanksgiving.

12. Where were you on September 11, 2001?

I was just starting a new job and was in my bosses office. He had the TV on and said something had hit one of the towers. We watched his little black and white TV and in horror saw the second plane hit the other tower.

13. What is your favorite tree?

It would have to be a magnolia tree. But, not the Southern kind that has big leaves but the Saucer kind with smaller leaves and pink flowers. My mother had one in the yard and was always wishing it would bloom before another frost hit every year. Most of the time it would be too cold when it bloomed and the buds would freeze and it would never bloom. But, years it did bloom I would always get a picture of it.

14. Most interesting biography?

I don’t really read biographies. I have read some autobiographies. The most recent being Life by Keith Richards. It’s amazing what he has seen in his life – where he’s been, what he’s done. It was enjoyable.

15. What do you order when you eat Chinese food.

This question is making me hungry just writing it. Chinese food is a rare, guilty pleasure. I rarely eat it because it has so many calories and the MSG always makes me sick. When I do have it, I order some kind of Lo Mein. I love noodles.

16. Best costume ever worn?

Again, I’m at a loss because I don’t wear costumes. I don’t like dressing up at Halloween. I prefer to be a spectator not a performer when it comes to this holiday.

17. Least favorite word.

Hard to choose. I have several. I recently read somewhere about words that make a person sound insincere or even stupid. One of them was “actually” in a sentence. For example, “Actually, there is some truth to changing your oil every 10,000 miles can save your engine.” And, “sincerely” isn’t really sincere. Like, “I sincerely hope that you will reconsider going to the movies with us.” How about “Seriously”? “I seriously doubt that there is life on Mars.”

18. If you had to be named after a state, which would it be?

Well, I know what it wouldn’t be – I-da-ho. I think it would either be Indiana after my home state or Arizona. (and, speaking of which did anyone see the season finale of Grey’s Anatomy?)

19. Who is your favorite bear?

What bear? Like I know several? I have a teddy bear I sleep with so I guess that’s my favorite.

20. Describe something that happened to you which you have no explanation.

I can’t think of anything. I’m at a loss on this one, too. But, if I do think of something I will get back to you on this.

21. If you could travel anywhere in Africa, where would it be?

Nowhere. I have no desire to go to Africa. There’s so many other places I would prefer to go to and see. Africa would be last on my list. If I have to answer this question it would either be Cape Town or Johannesburg. I’ve spoken to several people who say both are the most beautiful places in the world. Some say Cape Town hands down and others say Johannesburg.

22. What did you have for lunch yesterday?

A spinach salad with our Mexican bean salad on top. Yummy! I frequently eat salads for lunch during the week.

23. Where do you go for advice?

My best friend, lover and fiancé, Charlie.

24. Which do you use most often – the Dictionary or Thesaurus?

It would have to be the Thesaurus. I have spell check on my computer but I constantly use the Thesaurus to look up words.

25. Have you ever been snorkeling or scuba diving?

Snorkeling – I have a medical condition that doesn’t allow me to scuba. I’ve snorkeled reefs down in the Cayman Islands. I’ve also snorkeled with the sting rays at Sting Ray City. They are beautiful and docile creatures.

That’s it, folks! I hope you got through ok. Have a great rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

