thankfulness

I handed Charlie coffee this morning and when she said thank you I croaked out “You’re welcome.” I sounded like a forty-year old bull frog. (Felt like one, too)

Even after laying around all weekend I only feel slightly better. Saturday, I thought I was going to hang off the rafters from being cooped up all day. Sunday, I managed to get out of the house a little in the afternoon. Charlie and I went to the hardware store to pick up a few things and then on to do a little shopping downtown Decatur. We ended up stopping in at a little bar around the corner (since the new Taco Mac was 5-person deep at their bar) and catch the game (if you could call it that).  

Friday, I got a rejection from the job I interviewed with that previous Monday. This is the first time I’ve been told anything from any of the interviews I’ve went on in the past so I was grateful that they at least got back to me. I just sighed and forwarded the email to my “job” folder. This whole job hunting thing has become a joke and I’m starting to feel like it’s all a big waste of time.  Maybe I’m not meant to do this GIS thing and maybe I’m meant to stay where I am and explore other PT avenues. At least it gives me time to write and I have a few projects in mind and I have some classes I need to take so I’ll have time to do that. I’m just kind of like, whatever.

We originally wanted Charlie’s folks to come up for Thanksgiving but her Dad just had surgery so that’s out. We were going to take the camper and go camp somewhere but the extended forecast says it’s going to be really cold and I don’t want to camp in the cold. So, I made us a reservation in town for dinner that day and we’re going to do that. That way we won’t have to worry about cooking, going to someone’s weird-@ss house or going to someone’s house and dealing with their weird-@ss guests and/or relatives or dealing with my weird-@ss relatives.

On the radio this morning they were asking people to call in and tell about what they dreaded most about Thanksgiving. You wouldn’t believe the phone calls of people calling in saying they were going to come out or tell the rest of the siblings that they had to take care of mother or they were getting a divorce or bringing a lover no one had met before.

It was then I wondered if there were more homicide statistics on Thanksgiving Day than any other. You always read Labor Day weekend or 4th of July always being the most car accidents but you never hear which holidays have the highest homicide rates – I bet it’s Thanksgiving. (Maybe I’ll write a research grant on that and that’s what I’ll do for a living)

After we knew Charlie’s parents weren’t coming we asked the couple down the street (the ones we had pizza with a few weeks back) if they wanted to come by but one of them said, “Oh no. I will feel too guilty if I don’t go see my mother.”

Her mother lives in South Georgia and has never acknowledged my friend and her partner’s relationship even though they’ve been together almost twenty years.

“You going to tell her y’all got hitched?” I asked.

“Oh probably not.”

So, dread and guilt seemed to be the most prominent feelings when it comes to Thanksgiving.

“Hi, would you ladle on some of that guilt on top of my mashed potatoes?”

“I’d be happy to and would you like some dread to go with your dressing?”

I’m so THANKFUL Charlie and I don’t have to do that this year – or any.

But, I’m not thankful for those who have to proclaim something every day to be thankful for – kind of like the 25 days of Christmas – this is the 28 days of Thankfulness to Thanksgiving. This may be the reason I decide to quit Facebook once and for all – all the “Today I’m thankful for…..”s

Ok, I’m thankful for so many things every.d@mn.day but I don’t proclaim them all on FB every.d@mn.day. It makes me want to say things like, “TODAY (said in a similar tone of Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address) I am thankful for underwear because it keeps my crotch from sticking to my pantz.”

Or “TODAY I am thankful for toilet paper because –“

-and, I’m going to spare you those details but you catch my drift? I just feel like it’s one of those Facebook cults. Like today whoever who writes about football on FB will have to email the top ten people on their message list this [inane message]. Pass it along, play along. Go ahead. It’s fun!

It’s almost like new age version of Paper Fortune Teller. 

I wonder why a holiday that has the words “Thanks” and “Giving” in it has to do with so much dread and guilt. I admit – it’s not one of my favorite holidays, anyway. I mean, even if initially there’s not guilt and dread – there is after you eat all that food – guilt for eating it and dread of how much you’ll weigh getting on the scales. I say skip the holiday and do something fun with a loved one or a friend or even help someone out. Skip the guilt. Skip the dread. Skip the FB games and the pressure to post one thing to be thankful for everyday. You know what you’re thankful for – you don’t owe them anything.

6 thoughts on “thankfulness

  1. I’m not sure about homicide statistics with Thanksgiving, but I do know there’s a higher rate of domestic violence on Superbowl Sunday than any other day of the year.

    And I agree–doing something that doesn’t include a side of guilt and a helping of dread is an infinitely better idea.

    Like

  2. Totally with you on the whole giving thanks and posting it everywhere thing. It’s just annoying to me. I get the whole good intention thing, but it’s kinda like tooting your own horn. Or something. And, I don’t need a month with Thanksgiving in it to make me try to find something to be thankful for every day. I can and do think of these things every day – all year long. Not just one month. Yeah. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

