cooking and [whoopie] wine

Last night was fantastic!

I had stopped off at the grocery store to pick up a few things to make beef stew. This is one of my favorite wintertime soups. Once I got homeI fed the dogs and started prepping. I cut up carrots and potatoes and threw them into a beef broth and beer concoction. I threw in some frozen okra, peas and corn and cut up an onion to sate’ with the beef.

Charlie texted that she was on her way home and I went in and started a bath. I’ve been drawing her baths so when she gets home she can hop in the tub. She’s frequently dirty from work and the first thing she does when she gets home is strip and hop in either the shower or the tub.

I pulled the space heater in the bathroom and turned it on full blast and lit a candle. I put the iPod speakers in there and plugged in my phone and set it to iTunes radio on the Chill/singer songwriter station (our favorite). I opened a bottle of wine and set out two glasses.

She came in and the dogs were going crazy as they always do. I gave her a kiss and told her I had a bath going. She said, “Oh, good.” And headed for the bathroom. I poured the wine and as I was heading in with the glasses I heard, “Wow, this is nice.”

“Mind if I join you?”, I said.

She didn’t mind.

We sat in the tub and ran the jets and drank wine. It was so nice! Afterwards I said, “How about you just go right into the bedroom and don’t bother putting clothes on.”

She liked that idea.

We finished the wine……among other things. I put the heater in there with the radio and I have to say playing iTunes radio is MUCH better than trying to play the lube-smeared CD’s in the drawer. I don’t know why I didn’t think of this sooner. Historically, I always put in a CD (and, I wouldn’t recommend storing the CD’s in the same drawer as the lube). It would be, “Oh, that one again?” or we’d play this one that was really good except for one lame-ass  song that was like an opera song  that I hated. That song always fell at a very inconvenient time where I was too incapacitated to reach over and hit the fast forward button.

After we – um – finished the wine we went in and finished putting the meat in the crockpot and threw the whole thing into the fridge to make in the morning. We decided after that to make nachos with the taco leftovers in the fridge. We dumped a bunch of blue corn chips into a casserole dish and covered them with the black bean, rice and ground turkey mixture. We sprinkled on black olives, green chilies and a jalapeño. We covered it with grated queso cheese and regular grated cheddar and threw it all into the oven. It turned out amazing!

We took the nachos into the bedroom and watched The Walking Dead (this governor stuff is getting boring [yawn]) and Dexter Season 8.

We couldn’t have asked for a better evening! There’s something about cooking and whoppie that go hand in hand.

One thought on “cooking and [whoopie] wine

Leave a Reply

