making a difference with clown pants

Conversation in between watching The Killing and American Idol last night:

 “I could be out there helping people or keeping kids from being killed. I wish I made a difference in what I do. I could be saving lives.”

“Hon, you do that with teaching motorcycle safety.”

“I know. But, I wish I did something important in my main job. I think I missed my calling.”

“Well, go do it.”

“I can’t. I’m too old for the FBI and I don’t want to start over and be a cop and only make 32k and have to work my way up to be a detective and probably get shot before it happens. I’m too old for that.”

“I know.”

“Hey, thanks a lot! You don’t have to agree with me on that part!” nudging her.

“You need a project.”

“I know I do.”

“Why don’t you start another book?”

“Oh my gawd, no!”

“Why not?”

“Because it’s an endeavor just to think about what I’m going to write about and I want to write screenplays.”

“Well, why don’t you? You have that one script that guy gave you.”

“I know but it’s all over the place. I have no idea how to write one of these things.”

“Well, find out.”

“-and, the class at Emory is $500! I can’t afford that.”

“Read books, teach yourself. You’re no dummy.”

“Ok, I guess I could go to a writers group, too.”

“Yes, you could.”

“Ok, Mz. I wore my clown pantz today!”

Charlie wears scrub pants to work every day and since she only had two ratty-looking pairs I bought her another pair for Christmas (also, so the washing machine that’s about to blow a bearing and not used to doing three loads a day can have a rest) they are a little too long in the legs and baggy for her taste so she calls them “Clown Pants.”  (And, she KNOWS how I feel about clowns, too!)

“Oh so no ‘I wore the scrubs you gave me for Christmas, dear’ I have to hear ‘I wore those CLOWN PANTS today, hon.’

At least that got a laugh out of her. I hadn’t been feeling that funny lately. (I think I’m going to dye polka dots on them, too!) But, speaking of clowns have you heard about these eerie clown sightings that they’ve had in Sheffield England? They even have a Facebook page dedicated to photos of the clown sightings. Talk about SCARY!  

Anyway, I digress.

Back to making a difference: I was in Aldi the other day picking up something to make for dinner. I took my small Kindle phone in to read this book while I was in line. The lines in there are frequently long, too. Just as I was getting to a good part in my book the woman in front of me turned around and looked at my shirt. (I had a company shirt on that has the ‘official’ patch on it – I wear it just because I have enough of them where I can just wear one every day to work and not have to think about what I’m going to wear) she read the patch and said, “Whoo-hoo! Department of [military/official/agency], huh?”

I sighed inwardly. “Yes.”

“What do you do for them?”

I looked at her and made sure it was a pregnant pause before answering, “If I told you I’d have to kill you.”

She immediately turned around and I went back to my book. Sometimes even being a grunt for this organization has its perks.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “making a difference with clown pants

  1. i totally love this post, lanie! and i’m with charlie… you can (and should!) do whatever the hell you feel called to do. when you live from your soul, the universe conspires to keep giving you exactly what you need. just get started on that damn screenplay. or go work for the FBI. who cares how old you are or are not? i’ll support anything you do! just be wonderful, amazing you! xo (hugs to charlie!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

