cinco de veggie

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

catsombrero (gimmie some fish tacos cuz Ima veggie-tarian)

Charlie’s been sick all weekend but I’m hoping she’ll be up for a margarita tonight. I think she wore herself out getting ready to have a co-worker over for dinner last Friday night. Friday, she ran around all day cleaning the house, grocery shopping and prepping for dinner and –

-we didn’t even invite the vegetarian.

I had been trying to schedule dinner with an ex-coworker and her partner for quite some time. Honestly, it’s been a hassle and they just live not more than a mile up the road from us. Somehow they are determined that a Friday night dinner is the only thing that will work for them even though I’ve said several times of just meeting for a quick drink in the neighborhood because Charlie and I are always up for that if we’re available. (And, they do drink). Friday I had double booked us to going out and having dinner with them and Charlie and I having a co-worker of hers over for dinner. So, I decided to make it simple and invite my party over for dinner – that way it would kill two birds with one stone. It turned out they don’t eat bird which is a tragedy because Charlie was making her famous Chicken Cutlet Parmesan. Right after texting if they could come over for dinner and they accepted my friend wrote:

“Just to let you know Jill is a vegetarian but hates people to go to extra effort for her so don’t sweat it. If there’s any kind of veggies or whatever with the meal she will be fine.”

You know I hate it when people say they’re vegetarians and put it right back on you of “don’t go to a lot of trouble.” Ok, if you don’t want me to go to a lot of trouble then stay the f*ck home. I mean, what am I going to do? Look like a bad host and not have anything for my vegetarian guest to eat and look like an @ss?

I texted back, “Can Jill eat tomato sauce as long as it doesn’t have meat in it?”

“Only if it’s pureed she doesn’t like chunks of tomatoes. But, she loves salmon, tilapia etc.”

Ok wasn’t asking about fish, wasn’t planning on fish and aren’t going to change the menu because she will only eat fish…..

“Will Jill eat squash, zucchini and mushrooms?”

“She will but doesn’t like mushrooms but that’s ok she’ll pick them out.”

Wtf, is she one of those vegetarians that only eat spray cheese and wonder bread, I thought. I just love people who say they’re vegetarians but hate all veggetables.

By this time I was losing my patience. Honestly, if we’d had a little more time to plan this out it would have been a lot less stressful but it was last minute, Charlie had already bought all the ingredients and the whole meal was changing. Charlie was getting more stressed out by the moment of trying to prepare the meal without mixing something this Jill person didn’t like or couldn’t eat. I finally bailed on them the next day and said I was sick and could we take a rain check on dinner? It was just turning out to be too stressful and a dinner among friends shouldn’t be. (We do have other friends who are vegetarians who arn’t pains in the @sses that we’ve been able to accomodate just fine. I mean really they should have said, “Let’s do dinner another time when we can go out to eat and y’all won’t have to worry about what Jill does and doesn’t like.”

“Sure hope you feel better. Let us know when we can reschedule. We could go out to eat or we could do dinner at our house as well.”

Somehow, I don’t see dinner in the future for us since it’s been such a nightmare planning it. I just don’t think it’s meant to be.

In light of that, we had a great time with Jess, Charlie’s co-worker. She loved everything we served including the margaritas.

Saturday, Ellen came by and picked us up to go to a race we were running. It was a 5k we’d signed up for just because it had a great t-shirt.

race

Afterwards, we ate donuts on the way home and Charlie and I ran errands. Sunday, Charlie came home from work not feeling well and I went for a long bike ride. I took the speed bike and got a great workout in. This morning I rode to the train station – something I’ve been wanting to do for a while but never could get my lazy @ss out of bed.

Sadly the weekend was over before we knew it and I’m not off until it’s time to go here.

jekyll

Leave a Reply

