coffee time

I’m sitting in my cubicle looking out at midtown Atlanta. It’s a little hazy out today which tells me it’s going to be a scorcher. Cars on the connector are creeping north, southbound is moving faster. There’s a siren in the distance. It seems that there is always some sort of fire of police siren along the interchange my building sits. I’m sipping coffee that I brought from home. I’m thinking of running down to the Dunkin’ Donuts across the street for more – it is Monday after all.

Suzie had a good idea of If we were having coffee (so, after reading mine bop on over and read hers):

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I had a wonderful long birthday weekend. Dinner at Agave was great save for the screaming brats that were at the table directly behind us. Thankfully, it was bedtime and they had to get the little squirts off to bed. Honestly, I have no idea why parents take children to upscale restaurants. There should be a rule about that. Toddlers are only allowed in Chucky Cheese and Applebees! After they left it was way better. I made a mental note to go out to dinner later -after dark even. Friday, we went to the IMAX theatre but was told that they were having technical difficulties. We decided to head up the road for a drink to wait it out to see if they could fix it before the show. We ended up at the Righteous Room – big mistake. They still smoke in there which gives the atmosphere a certain grime. There was some guy sitting at the bar next to us mumbling, drinking water and smoking a cigarette. I was wondering if he was a paying customer. Charlie asked if we could go outside to breathe and I agreed. Breathing would be nice. We no more got off our stools when the bartender said to the man tersely that he would have to leave if he didn’t purchase a drink. He followed us outside and continued to bother us with his cigarette. -even getting closer to us at the table outside until Charlie told him to move his cigarette. He started in on what would we do if we were a veteran, didn’t have any money, lost their ID, blah, blah, blah. Honestly, I was about to stab him in the eye and take him out of his misery but before I could do that the people at the next table said, “Hey, Lennie – leave those ladies alone.” He must have been a local. After that he wandered out into the parking lot to find his next victim.

“Ok, we won’t be coming here anymore.”

I called the IMAX and they had fixed it so we headed back. Once there they had the martini bar set up and I went to get us VERY STRONG whiskey drinks. It was supposed to be martinis and jazz in their plaza area – high ceiling, models of dinosaurs looking over us, cutout windows above -a huge contrast to the smoky bar before.

photo 3

The movie was on great white sharks and was very good. I couldn’t believe how big those guys were – I do not want to swim in Australia or South Africa anytime soon! Afterwards, we headed over to another place to have a drink. It was a Mexican restaurant in Fourth Ward – Across the street – even the name is lame.  It’s one of those places where the atmosphere is really good but the food just stinks. They can’t even get the salsa right. We decided to have one drink and go.

Saturday afternoon a few of us met up for a tasting at Blue Tarp a local brewery. It was Ellen and churchy (apparently, they’re on the mend) and another random friend, Lori. Try as I might I couldn’t get our friend, Cindi, to come as she had other plans. I know she could have pushed her plans out a half an hour and still had time to drink with us but she didn’t. I mentioned doing something for my birthday two weeks prior to try to get her to make a plan so it’s not like I dropped it on her last minute. But, nope. Plans. But, It didn’t stop her from getting on FB and saying “Sorry I couldn’t make it blah, blah, blah” and texting me asking how it was which I ignored. I’m done with it.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have my first MeetUp this week and wondering if anyone is going to show. People are so wishy-washy (like Cindi)  but we’ll see. Maybe it’s one of those things where people come some weeks and then not. I’m going to do it for three months and see how it goes. If I get only two people each time then I’m starting a different MeetUp.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m going out to try a bootcamp tonight after work that I’m hoping to join until my gym is being done renovated. I’m so tired of trying to get away at lunch to work out in their temporary space. There’s only so much I can do in there. I hate having to change in the women’s bathroom and taking a whores bath afterwards. I also ran yesterday for the first time. It was ok – not great- but ok. At least I did something.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’ve had a great desire to write something, draw something or create something. But, I don’t know what that is. I was thinking of a daily run somewhere, draw something, write something. But, that’s a lot. Maybe I’ll try to draw something with my blue pen at work (everything is in blue here) looking out the window at Midtown.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m so tired of not being creative. I have a desire to start a new book, new sport or new group. But, alas, I don’t know what that is.

 

Leave a Reply

