an island

Well, the party at Link’s house wasn’t that bad. We had BBQ and jammed down despite my not bringing my drums over. Link’s gf had bought a box of kid’s instruments (kazoos, whistles, wooden knockers, etc) and we filled in background with the guitars and singing. Rooster and Shutter were there playing Link’s bongo drums, and Link pulled out Shutter’s bass guitar and started playing. Val who had been in all week from Maine with with her ex gf (practically all of Val’s friends are ex gf’s) and daughter was singing and playing guitar with daughter on the violin. Martha showed up without Dino in tow which was a relief but I still got cornered in the kitchen by Mike.

You just cannot have a conversation with Mike without him trying to get under your skin.

Mike: So, why are you off FB?

I just need a break from social media for a while. I want to focus on interviewing and trying to find a new job.

What kind of job are you looking for?

I’m looking for a project manager position with other companies.

I heard you completed that project management course are you certified?

No, I still need to study and take the test.

Oh, yeah you’ll need that if you’re going to get a project manager job.

I just looked at Mike. I mean, I’ve been a PM probably longer than he had been an attorney. I will have no problem finding another pm job it just has to be the right fit. But, this is the type of shit Mike always says in a conversation. I decided it wasn’t worth arguing. Thankfully, Rooster and Shutter came walking in to save me and I broke away from Mike to hug them.

I’ve just decided that I’m just not going to let anyone get under my skin. I’m just going to walk away and chill out when someone is trying to make me upset. I am an island surrounded by sharks and no one can get to me. I’m going to end this with a video of Rooster singing a song that perfectly describes what I’m talking about.

 

Leave a Reply

