Friday chex mix

I freaking love Fridays now that I can work from home! The work week goes so much faster when I know that I can work in my boxers on Fridays.

I’m settling in to my new office a bit more and bonding a little more with my team. Patricia doesn’t get on my nerves as much since I know the reasoning behind her questions of my coming and goings is mostly due to a means to make conversation. Ned and Nicole are finally out of their training and are in the office more as well. Both of them have worked together for years and they have a work relationship chemistry going. Yesterday, I got up from designing a job and announced that I needed to get out for a while and get some fresh air. We all loaded into a company truck and rode over to a center nearby and Ned pointed out work that he and Nicole had done in the past. Then, we visited the center where we were supposed to move previously to talk to another member there and I was really glad we didn’t move in to that place. Save for both Chris and Bob there’s no one else in there. It reminded me of The Walking Dead. I’m not so sure I could work by myself over there it would creep me out. I managed to arrange a happy hour for all of us next week so we can bond a little more.

So, some of you have probably been watching this massive hurricane that has been moving up the coast of Florida. Charlie’s folks are down in Vero Beach so she’s been quite worried about them the past week few days. Wednesday we tried to no avail to get them to come up here to stay but her folks wouldn’t move. We were frustrated to say the least but there was nothing we could do short of driving down there and hauling them in the car and driving back but at that point I don’t think we would have made it as it’s a 7 hour trip [at best] there. Charlie was supposed to go down there this past week because the previous week her dad had had a complete hip replacement surgery (another reason why they didn’t want to evacuate is because his movement is limited) but I forbid her going down there to the possible cat 4 hurricane. Thankfully, last night it passed through there as a cat 1 and when she called this morning they said they still had electricity and only lost a screen off of their porch. I really hope for the sake of coastal Georgia and the Carolinas that it veers out to sea before it gets there.

This weekend just happens to be PRIDE weekend in Atlanta along with a bunch of other stuff happening. Tomorrow there’s a neighborhood porch concert fest that our friends Rooster and Shutter are playing so we will probably head down there for a little while. Sunday we will probably try to Uber it down to Piedmont Park to watch the parade and Link and Stiletto ride with the dykes on bikes. Speaking of bikes – it looks like I’m finally going to get my tank and fenders back next week. They have been in Indiana being custom painted since last August. It’s been a process but once they’re back and the bike is put back together it’s going to look HOT. Here’s some pics of the final coat that’s drying.

image000000(that stripe down the front fender is going to look great!)

[For those of you who don’t remember what the old paint looked like it was this:]

df2e023c-0005-4884-930a-7d9b1e6e6576

Drewberry is coming over next weekend to help me put it back together and afterwards we’re heading down to the lake near the house for a neighborhood BBQ fest. I’m not sure if Charlie is going to be here for that or not as she’s planning on high-tailing it to Florida as soon as this shit moves off the coast.

Other than that I got nothing except for an answer to Liz + Lina’s podcast question – yes, I need to stay plugged in as that’s what I do. Rarely do I go off the grid but if I do, I’ll let ya know!

Happy weekend! Cheers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

