TWT – part II

Wonder Twin Power ACTIVATE from this–

wts2 wts3

into this –

img_0569

Yeah, they got told to move into the bosses office.

Now, Patricia is moving in there all by herself and I have the big room. So, we practically have our own office together but separated by walls. It’s so much quieter in here now that we don’t have them in here and the contractors slamming in and out of here and Carmine has figured out where Larry is and isn’t coming in here anymore.

So, Monday I came in and was working and noticed Sherry moving lamps out of their office. I thought at first she was dusting them? But, when another duck lamp came out I asked, “What’s the deal? You moving?”

“Yes, I’m moving into Baxter’s (our manager/boss) office.”

“When did this come about?”

“Oh, the other day, like, Thursday.”

“So, why are you moving in there? Did you and Larry have a spat?”

I actually asked that, y’all. Transparency is one of my New Year’s resolutions.

“Oh, no he’s moving in there with me. Baxter just thought it made sense for us to move in there since I do a lot of his admin work and Larry is handling field work for him.”

I gleefully thought, HA, separation. No more Wonder Twin Powers.

I got up and followed her out the door and down the hall to Baxter’s office and lo and behold both she and Larry had desks set up in the big room and Baxter had moved into a smaller office that looked out into their large room. He actually looked up as I came in and I just smiled, waved and left. I don’t know how the twins are going to handle it – no more feeding each other sushi at lunch. No more ‘Are you ready for your smoothie, Larry?’ (gag, gag, gag) I’m so glad I don’t have to listen to it anymore – let Baxter worry about them.

I think this came about because of going to the satellite office last week and having lunch with one of the guys out there. He already knew the dynamic between the twins. I told him the situation of the twins just disappearing all day and when they were in the office how disrupting it was to have all the contractors in and out all day long and I was already wanting to move. He’s tight with the guy that’s just under the manager, Kevin, so I think he told Kevin the situation and Kevin mentioned it to Baxter – hence, Baxter having them more under his thumb now.

Despite it being quieter it feels very weird – like the other shoe is going to drop soon. We’re all awaiting our reviews and there’s been a rumor going around that two of us on the team are going to get cut. There’s all kinds of speculation about it but the vibe is still calm before the storm. I really HATE to think that after all this I’m going to be laid off or let go. By no means do I think I’m one of the two but who knows with all the rash reasoning management can have. I won’t know anything until I get my individual review and even then I’m going to ask Baxter if my job is in jeopardy – I mean, I have to know so I can plan to start searching again. I just hate the feeling of having this pendulum hanging over my head waiting to drop.

So, I guess keep your fingers crossed that I don’t lose my job. Happy New Year to me!

 

Leave a Reply

