corporate image

I’ve been working at our other office down by the airport this week. After the whole snafu a few weeks back I went to my boss and asked him if I should consider going down there and working with another co-worker who was handing over their wire center to me and he agreed that it was a good idea.

Talk about leading the cows around the barn to show them food.

When I was hired he said he was a hands off kind of guy. At the time I took that to mean that he’s not in to micromanaging. That was fine with me as my former manager was a micromanager. What I didn’t expect that to mean was days going by without any communication/interaction whatsoever. I used to be the one to keep him in the loop about everything I was doing but now I’m not. Once I told him I was going to work down there temporarily for a while and got his response of Ok, let’s see how it goes, I was done. I know how it’s going to go. It’s going to go a lot better than working up there in that construction office where I can go a whole day and no one even knows I’m there. I went back there to work on Wednesday this past week and no one even knew I was there until one point Larry and another co-worker, Don (who works in yet another office building) burst in.

Don was telling Larry that he needed to get his filing cabinets out of there soon. Larry told him not to take my wall. I had lined them up to block out Carmine coming in every 5 minutes back in the day when Larry and Sherry were in there. I was sitting there looking at both of them like, I really don’t care what you do, and said so.

Then, Don starts asking me what’s going on with the half-built cubical walls. I said that I didn’t know. Then, he asked where they came from. I again said that I didn’t know. Larry was like, Don’t get me started on that. Which was funny because aside from helping Baxter from putting one of them together one day he basically gets to run around with Sherry all day and do nothing.

Don was rambling on about something else and Larry said, I’m gonna come see you. I shrugged like, Whatever. I wanted to say, What about? They finally left and I spent the rest of the day in there working and no one else came in. No idea where Patricia was – I got asked that, too, and I said my standard, I don’t know. Even if I did I’m not telling any of those people shit.

When I work in the south office I work next to three of the women I originally started working with in our old office – before we had to move out and we all got tossed to the wind. There’s way more interaction there and I actually get asked out to lunch and to the field to look at shit. So, I’m going to try to stay down here as much as possible because I’m just so over the b.s. at the other office. I guess I need to go ahead and take charge of my professional development and push on through or else I’ll be sitting in that stupid construction office waiting for things to happen that never will.

Speaking of professional development, I went to this free seminar by Brandie Mitchell on how to package the product of you. There was some great information there and it was held in one of the company’s corporate offices. I’m trying to get out and network more with other people in the organization of where I work and this was a good opportunity.

Some of the things I took away from it were this: People will pay you more for what you know than what you do.

  • Build a platform that packages your message of who you are and what you do.
  • Become a signature in the way you do things.
  • Make a list of things you do best and skills you use in each of them.
  • Identify the most important lessons you have learned in life.
  • What do others ask you to help them with?
  • What types of customers do you enjoy working with?
  • List your achievements and accomplishments.
  • Create an action plan for 90 days, 6 months, 12 months.

Those are some of the things I took away from the event. I already have an action plan in place. In 90 days I want to be PMP certified and then continue to make contacts and build a network. By 12 months I’d really like to be in a different place at work. Whether that means running a wire center successfully or something altogether different. My vision is to be more corporate and be in that kind of an environment. I feel that’s where my heart is taking me these days. Whether my customer is a contractor or a corporate manager – it doesn’t matter – they both want to build something. The customers I enjoy working with are the ones who enjoy building something that helps others and I think I’ve answered at least one of the questions above.

 

Leave a Reply

