the trip

So, I made it back from Indy in one piece after an 8 hour drive each way. I never realize how far the drive seems until I’m on my way back and I think, I’m flying next time.

I stayed with my cousin and his husband while I was there and I must say it was a lot more relaxing and less stressful than staying with my sister. (I’m not sure I can get away with that again for a while.)

I got up there in the early evening on Thursday and just hung out with them that night. I called my step mother to let her know I was there and that I’d be by the next day. I wanted to meet with my contract farmer to discuss farm business unbeknownst to them because they always seem to get so upset when I mention anything about it (and, as I’m one third owner I felt it was my right to know some stuff). I drove down and met Doug – the farmer. It had been almost 30 years since we had seen each other. We grew up together only being a year apart and our parents have always been friends.

When I got there he drove up in a tractor trailer as he was hauling corn that day and we stood out between the corn cribs talking farm stuff. He told me his folks were taking food over to my folks that afternoon and I thought, Great, yet another person knows I’m here talking to you. He had sworn his Dad to secrecy but farmers are just as worse as a pack of church ladies at a shotgun wedding. In fact, that’s all my Dad does nowadays is sit on the porch and gossip about people and tell these stories that are so far-fetched that I wonder if the suspicion of Dementia is true. By Saturday after spending a couple of afternoons there listening to his stupid stories and one terrifying ride in the car with him I was done. I’m glad I got to see my step mother and she does look and act so frail that I fear that it won’t be long before she’s gone.

Saturday evening I went out with my cousin and his husband to an Irish pub and we had some appetizers and drinks. I got a little toasted to say the least and later when we got back to their house we stayed up late talking about things. One moment I was crying about losing my original mother and the next I had us both crying – with laughter over the time my sister and I took skiing lessons in Switzerland.  By the time I looked at my watch it was 2 a.m.

The next morning, I woke up at 6:30 and started packing the car to leave. I wanted to get a head start on the driving day. As it was I didn’t get back home until around 5. I listened to Ellen DeGeneres most of the trip back as I needed a little comic relief. Thankfully, I had the next day off for my birthday. Charlie had built me this really nice desk for my office and had installed can lights in the hallway while I was gone.

Later, we went out to have some Mexican beers and a few shots for my bday and Emil and Maybe Nicole stopped in to say hey. They seem to be doing really well and were really happy. It was nice and lighthearted. I had been kind of a wreck since I got back and needed that.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

