Incentive

Sometimes you just have to take incentive into your own hands. This is so true with my current job. My sometimes office mate often tells me that I have it made. I probably do since I don’t deal with the things he deals with every day and this is where I’ll tell you about our team and how uneven it is.

I know I have often wrote about work in the past – I’ve had some growing pains with this position and the “team” I work with including my manager. Since I’ve been running a wire center I’ve learned to go to different people for questions and help. There’s only a certain few that I do go to. I’ve been screwed over by others on our team – including our resource manager who I’ll name Fred Flintstone. The only reason he’s been called that is because he’s friends with our manager and he just gave him that title. Our manager has segregated the team into different responsibilities even though we all have the title of “Engineer”.

Some of us are actually doing the duties of an engineer – running wire centers, doing design work and overseeing construction of the jobs. Like myself. I have just come into starting to enjoy it as I’m pretty much doing my thing and people don’t get in my way.

Then, we have the wonder twins. The wonder twins are responsible for submitting all the permits for our jobs. They work side-by-side all day long in the same vicinity as our manager with their sweet smelling candles, candy dishes, refrigerator stocked with creamer, LaCroix and bottled water. Larry complains that they are so busy doing permits and that’s all they do. Meanwhile, they have soaked up all the OT for the group for the remainder of the year. Larry’s pulled so much he could probably buy a nice ski boat by now. (Personally, I think he’s banking for his divorce.)

Part of the team sits down at the southside of the city by the airport. I used to work a bit down there during the time I was going to take over this wire center from one of the chicks down there. I didn’t mind it – much. But, to put it mildly I did not fit in really well with the demographic down there.

The other whitebreads work out in the sticks towards the northeast outside the perimeter. By whitebreads I mean rednecks. This is where FF works with “the guys” and one lone woman from India who used to be my work BFF until she defected out there and now I have to watch what I say to her because I suspect she repeats all my instant messages to them.

Then, there’s the office where the twins, our manager, myself from time to time and Patricia work – on the west side of town (inside the perimeter). But, recently I have started to move over to the central office closer to my house where Donnie and Chris work – Donnie does an entirely different engineering job – he’s like a building engineer whereas the rest of us engineers deal with outside (plant) stuff. I often ask Chris questions because he also runs a wire center. Plus, it’s a lot more peaceful and close to the house. Mind you – I just took the incentive to move over here on my own. I figured everyone else works where they want to work then why shouldn’t I.

The southside team all runs wire centers as well as most of the whitebreads except for Shampa the Indian woman and Fred. Fred just approves jobs and dictates stuff even though he has the same title as I and is at my same position level. Shampa just designs certain jobs and that’s all she does. I’m waiting for them to heap some more responsibility on her and see what she does. She just sits out there in the sticks in her cocoon of the guys and does those same jobs over and over again. I was doing those jobs over and over again when I first started but then the Fred decided I needed too much help, bad mouthed me behind my back to the manager and thus, why I got a mediocre review although after that I was given a wire center to run.

Hmmm, how does that work – you’re rated as mediocre BUT we’re going to give you a wire center to run where you have to deal with construction people, play a customer facing role and do more complicated designs?

Makes sense, right? NOPE.

So, this isn’t going to happen on my next review if it’s the last thing I do. Anyway, what I’ve been describing this whole time is the structure of our “team” and illustrating that aside from running wire centers like we’re supposed to do there’s people who don’t do shEEot. Although I’m glad I’m running a wire center and sitting in the central office now – but it was all incentive that I took on my own. I totally could have used  mentoring from my manager but I’ve learned that he lacks basic social skills. I’m just amazed at some people even getting the manager position when they can’t even manage to communicate with people. Alot of the people on the team “think he’s the best manager ever” sans the twins. But, I think that’s only because they’re friends. Me, I don’t think I’ve ever had a best manager unless it was the one I had when I worked for a local government.

I decided I liked this quote and what it stands for: Incentive

Leave a Reply

